How to Perform Chakra Meditations

To know how to meditate with our chakras we must first understand each on and their symbolism.  We have included a chart of the chakra as the appear in ascending order.

1. Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Color: Red

Mantra: LAM

Located at the spine’s terminus this chakra governs one’s connection to the world, basic needs of food, shelter, and safety. Issues with the root chakra may cause an array of emotional and physical disturbances, especially digestive ailments.

2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

Color: Orange

Mantra: VAM

Located immediately below the navel this chakra is deeply entwined with creativity; it governs both the reproductive organs and one’s imagination. A balanced sacral chakra is vital for coping with new experiences and exploring one’s environment.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

Color: Yellow

Mantra: RAM

Resting above your navel, in your stomach Manipura is key to digestion, but also the role of mental and spiritual wellbeing.  Only when this chakra is balance can you process any experience or information and understand how they can impact your life.

4. Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Color: Green

Mantra: YAM

Located at the center of the chest, this charka governs the cardiovascular and respiratory systems. Imbalances here may result in breathing issues and high blood pressure. By keeping an open and balanced heart chakra a person is able to foster sincere emotional connections with others.

5. Throat Chakra (Visshuddha)

Throat Chakra (Visshuddha)

Color: Blue

Mantra: HAM

Housed in the neck, near the thyroid glands, this chakra fosters communication and self-expression. A blockage here may cause feelings of loneliness and somatic issues like predisposition to infection and hormonal imbalances.

6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

Color: Indigo

Mantra: SHAM

Your third eye rests between your eyebrows. Ajna governs insight and intuition, especially in the spiritual plane. Maintaining a balanced third eye chakra empowers understanding of the one’s relationship to the world and all beings.

7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Color: Purple / White

Mantra: OM

The pinnacle of the chakras, Sahasrara hovers immediately above your head.  Only when all other chakras are aligned can this chakra’s powers fully be expressed.  When you are able to emit a healthy energy, this chakra powers your connection to the world around you and the universal energy flow.  Sustaining a healthy crown chakra promotes extended periods of peace, well-being, and confidence.

How Do I Know if a Chakra is Blocked?

You feel the effects any time a chakra becomes blocked, closed or imbalanced.  This prevents a steady flow of energy throughout your body and can lead to problems with other chakras (they can either rev up or slow way down) and create noticeable effects on your physical and mental wellbeing.  Learn about your chakras and their properties.  This will help you identify signs of imbalance early on and potential mental or physical symptoms should an issue arise.

Meditation Helps Maintain Chakra Balance!

Both hyper and hypo active chakras produce lots of unnecessary complications to one’s mind and body.  Chakra meditations help you cleanse, clear and balance your chakras.  Since chakras are so interconnected it is best to scan your energetic field, identify trouble areas and ensure the entire system is balanced.

Begin by blocking out a period of time for at least 30 minutes, where you won’t be disturbed and find a place that relaxes you.  Sit comfortably on the ground, folding your legs in front of you.  Maintain a straight and engaged spine.  Allow you hands to gently rest on your knees.  Breathe slowly and evenly from your diaphragm.

Give your body a full scan, seeing each chakra spinning from your root to your crown.  Envision the how the energy exchange flow in each chakra.  Provide each chakra loving attention and care.  Focus on it until you see and feel dynamic energy flowing through it.  Expect to give each chakra at least five minutes a piece.  Upon reaching the crown chakra you should sense the renewed vibrancy of energy flowing throughout your body.

Meditation Work for Individual Chakras

With time and practice you will feel more connected to how healthy energy flows throughout the chakras.  You should notice how your emotions, thoughts and physical wellbeing are tied to various chakras.  If you notice any patterns it might be helpful to tailor your sessions on the individual chakras impacted most frequently.  Only do individual chakra meditations when it feels natural for you.  Research online the best postural positions, breath work, mantras and gestures (mudras) for each chakra you want to improve.